Laboratory for Fluorescence Dynamics

A NIH research center for biomedical fluorescence spectroscopy at the University of California, Irvine


We gratefully acknowledge the sponsorship of the following organizations:

Carl Zeiss Inc. Logo

ISS Inc.



Globals Software

10th International Weber Symposium

The 10th International Weber Symposium on Innovative Fluorescence Methodologies in Biochemistry and Medicine, "Weber Symposium", was held in Búzios, Brazil, on May 28 - June 2, 2017.

The symposium honors the fundamental and far-reaching contributions of Professor Gregorio Weber. It provides an overview of modern fluorescence methodologies and applications in the biological and medical sciences. Weber symposia were held in Italy in 1986 and 1991, and in Hawaii in 2014, 2011, 2008, 2005, 2002, 1999, and 1995.

Speakers describe state-of-the-art and emerging technologies used in their research programs. Topics include time-resolved fluorescence, Förster resonance energy transfer, multi-photon fluorescence microscopy, confocal microscopy, single molecule studies, fluctuation correlation spectroscopy, fluorescence imaging spectroscopy, macromolecular (nucleic acids and proteins) interactions, membrane dynamics, and quantitative cellular dynamics.

Dates and Updates

  • Thursday, June 29, 2017: Recordings are online.
  • Sunday, May 28, 2017: Registration, Poster and Exhibit setup at 3:00 PM
  • Monday, May 15, 2017: Agenda, iCalendar File and Google Calendar are available.
  • Tuesday May 2, 2017: Deadline for registrations and change of abstracts
  • Tuesday May 2, 2017: Cut off date for the special hotel room rate.
  • March 4, 2017: Tentative agenda is available
  • February 14, 2017: Deadline for ordering additional T-shirts
  • January 19, 2017: Online registration opened

General Information


View Larger Map

The venue for the 2017 meeting is the Hotel Atlântico Búzios Convention & Resort, Estrada da Usina, 294 - Morro do Humaitá - Armaço de Buzios - RJ - CEP 28950-000. Buzios is about a 90 minutes' drive from the Rio de Janeiro international airport (GIG). A bus service will be available.


A block of rooms is being held at the Hotel Atlântico Búzios Convention & Resort, Estrada da Usina, 294. We have negotiated a special group rate of R$ 567 including taxes per night. The room rate includes breakfast and lunch. If you wish to bring a guest, the room rate will increase and you will be asked to pay the difference. This is to offset the cost of breakfast and lunch, which are included in the room rate for single occupancy.

The resort's cut-off date for obtaining the special group rate is Tuesday May 2nd, 2017 but there are a limited amount of rooms at this rate. When the rooms at the group rate are gone you may have to pay the regular hotel rate, so please reserve early.

To use the special group rate, hotel room reservations have to be made by the symposium organizers. Please email Andre Marco Oliveira Gomes at with the following information to reserve hotel rooms for you:

  • Number of rooms
  • Accommodation setting (single, double, twin (two beds), triple, quadruple room)
  • Names of all guests in the room
  • Check in date
  • Check out date

The special meeting rate of R$ 567 including taxes per night will be available for 2 days before and 2 days after the above meeting if you wish to extend your stay at the Hotel Atlântico Copacabana, which is located in Rio de Janeiro.

Sharing a hotel room: a listing of those persons who would like to share a room will be kept by the symposium administrator. If you want to share a room, indicate so on the registration form and a listing of contacts will be sent to you. If you have specific needs, please contact the symposium administrator via email.


Transportation from the Rio de Janeiro International Airport to Búzios (about 90 minutes) will be available the day the meeting starts and the day the meeting ends. You can also book your own transportation using the services offered at


A visa may be required to attend the symposium. Brazil requires U.S. citizens to carry a valid U.S. passport and visa when traveling to Brazil for any purpose. If you need a visa, start the process early. To obtain a visa you will need a letter of invitation from Brazil. We have drafted a letter. We will send this letter upon request.

Abstracts and Posters

All participants who wish to hang a poster and all speakers must submit an abstract to the symposium administrator. More than one poster may be submitted if approved by the committee. Abstracts and posters must be scientific in nature; posters containing advertising are not allowed. Abstracts should be no larger than to fit in a space approximately 6.5"x 6.5" (width x height), single-spaced in a 10-point font. Please submit your abstract with the online registration or email. Abstracts will be typeset for publication in the program.

The deadline for submitting abstracts for inclusion in the abstract book is May 2, 2017.

Size of poster area: Individual, free-standing poster boards will be used this year. The area allotted for each poster will be 4x4 feet. If your poster is in one large piece, it may extend below the 4-foot area, but cannot be wider than 4 feet.

Posters will be on display throughout the symposium. Times will be announced for the poster presentation sessions. Posters are not required for attendance.

Exhibits and Advertisements

Companies and institutions interested to advertise in the conference abstract book or exhibit at the Weber Symposium should refer to the exhibits page.



Globals Software, a sponsor of the meeting, will provide a T-shirt with the meeting logo for each speaker and registered guest. Additional T-shirts maybe purchased, but must be ordered and prepaid prior to February 14, 2017.

Registration and Payments

The deadline for registration or change of abstracts is May 2, 2017.


  • Professionals: $400
  • Students: $200
  • Table-top Exhibitor: $1000
  • Regular Exhibitors: $2500
  • Sponsors: $4000 or more

Additional fees may apply for extra services. Registration fees may be waived, e.g. for invited speakers.

Registration and Payment Process

All participants must register for the meeting, even if the registration fee is waived (e.g. for invited speakers, organizers, and second sponsor representatives).

Registration must be done using the online registration form. Upon successful submission of the registration form, you will be presented a web page with a proforma invoice and a confirmation that we have received your registration. Please print that page for your records.

Registration fees may be paid via US Dollar check. Please make checks payable to "UC Regents" and send to the symposium administrator:

Weber Symposium 2017
c/o Enrico Gratton
University of California, Irvine
Biomedical Engineering Department
3208 Natural Sciences II
Irvine, CA 92697-2715

Contact Information

Symposium Administrator

Phone: +1‑949‑824‑7085 (between 8 AM- 4 PM Pacific Time, Monday through Friday)
Facsimiles: +1-949-824-1727

Weber Symposium 2017
c/o Enrico Gratton
University of California, Irvine
Biomedical Engineering Department
3208 Natural Sciences II
Irvine, CA 92697-2715